Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Posted June 11th, 2014 in Uncategorized / 15 comments

THE MURDER COMPLEX

The Murder Complex Series #1

by Lindsay Cummings


Publisher: Greenwillow Books (June 10, 2014)
Genre: Dystopia, Thriller, Young Adult
Format: ARC Hardcover (400 pages)
Source: Free book from publisher for honest review
Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Rating: ★★★☆☆  (3 stars)

Summary
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

At A Glance
Another hard book to rate. It had its good and bad moments.

The Good
I don’t know what’s up with me not being able to decide if I like a book or not lately. But The Murder Complex is another one of those “I don’t know” books.

I did enjoy a good portion of this book. The concept was badass. Programmed assassins? Hells yeah! And let’s face it, I am a little obsessed with violent books. And The Murder Complex had violence in spades. Be ready to be grossed out by a lot of blood and rotting flesh. I even gaged once, no joke. Lindsay didn’t hold anything back with her writing. It was gritty and frighteningly descriptive.

I loved the twists and turns sprinkled throughout the novel. The plot was thick with hidden secrets and evil masterminds. You can’t really trust any character because almost everyone is out for themselves or for power. The depth of evil it would take to make these characters real is a freaking scary thought. If people like that ruled my world, I would give up. LOL. I am just not as strong as Meadow and Zephyr. Mad respect for their resilience and determination.

The Bad
But even if I respected Meadow and Zephyr, I never really liked them. I felt nothing for them. They could fight like bad mofos, but their personalities were lacking and their inner thoughts weren’t anything to write home about. The switching POV chapters were super confusing because they both had such similar voices.

Even though the plot was interesting, it didn’t always make sense. It seemed like things happened just to happen, not because the plot dictated it. I also think, with the amazing concept, there could have been more creativity all the way around. But I found myself letting this book fall into the long line of average dystopians.

The world building was lacking a bit and the writing style didn’t flow for me. It felt stilted and cut off.

The Snuggly
The insta-love! Shoot me now. I have never seen such a bad case of insta-love. Meadow fell for Zephyr at first sight, and Zephyr, wait for it…fell for Meadow BEFORE he even met her. He dreamed of her. Yeah, lame. I just can’t. Gag me! And then I felt no connection between them when they started to admit their feelings. Don’t read this book for the romance. It really brought it down.

Final Thoughts
Bad characters and insta-love but great action and concept. This one will have to be up to you. I think this is a middle of the road book. It’s not horrible, but it’s not great. I don’t regret reading it and I had fun for the most part. So, yeah, I kind of recommend it. Just a little.

Quotes
The stars are out tonight. But the stars aren’t what I want to see right now.
It’s the moon. The moon that reminds me of the moonlit girl.
My moonlit girl. She’s the cure to my nightmares, the one thing that helps me feel safe when I can’t even trust my own dreams to harbor me.
There aren’t many things I want.
But stars, I want the moonlit girl.



“The image of his face, with his oddly imperfect smile, and his emerald eyes, haunts me the rest of the day.”


“Count to three. Relax your mind. Now survive.”

Uncategorized

, , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings”

  1. sherry fundin

    I have seen this book around and love the cover and summary. Sounds to me like it is still worth the read. Thanks for the great review.

  2. Jessica Haluska

    BAH. I’m obsessed with violence in books too, but man . . . I might have to draw the line at he dreamed of her. *rolls eyes* And that makes me sad b/c I was actually looking forward to this one. I did already get the prequel though, so maybe . . .

  3. Christy @ Love of Books

    LOL – what part made you gag? This was middle of the road for me too, but I guess on the more possitve side. I didn’t feel the insta-love at all, except maybe a little on Z’s part. I kind of accepted his fascination with her because his dreams, which actually turned out to be a nightmare. lol. I mean, Meadow may have felt an attraction at points, but in no way did she love him. I expected her to stab him more often than not. Maybe the next book with be better for you.

    • Jennifer Bielman

      Well, when I say insta-love, it’s more insta-obsession with Meadow. I just don’t like when characters look across the room or dream about someone and all of a sudden they’re like “ooh I find him/her so fascinating.” Really?? So stupid.

      I totally forget what part made me gag. Sometime with them crawling through the dead, rotting bodies.

  4. Braine TS

    Question: Do you have an ad or program that redirects your blog to an ad of some sort? Coz that just happened to me a minute ago. I got an ad for dog treats… Anyway, yeah, what made you gag?

    • Jennifer Bielman

      No I don’t. I did have AdSense on my side bar, but funny enough, I took that off this morning. Did it redirect you straight from the get-go or after being on the blog for a bit? This makes me nervous.

      The rotting bodies people have to rummage though made me gag.

  5. Melliane

    Ah I don’t know, I really really have a problem with insta-love… Well, at the end I’m not sure it’s for me…

    • Jennifer Bielman

      Well, it seems like some people don’t consider it bad in the insta-love department, so it might just be me. See what other people are saying too.

  6. Tabitha (Pabkins)

    I hate it when I feel absolutely nothing for characters – then pretty much to me it makes reading the book pointless. If you don’t care about the characters then it makes it hard to care about what’s happening to them.

  7. Joy @ Thoughts By J

    I’m definitely interested in this book, but the characters definitely turn me off it. I love a good violent book as well though, so I might just have to give this one a go. Wonderful review xx

Leave a Reply