Review: Once Pure by Cecy Robson

Posted June 24th, 2015 in book review / 18 comments

Review: Once Pure by Cecy RobsonOnce Pure by Cecy Robson
Publisher: Loveswept on May 19, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 270
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Add to: Goodreads
Rating: three-stars

She bears the scars of the past. He blames himself for things he can’t control. Their defenses are up, but in Cecy Robson’s latest Shattered Past novel—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—true love lands a knockout punch.

Sofia Tres Santos remembers a time before her life went sour, before her innocence was ripped away, before she began punishing herself with risky behaviors and unworthy men. Now, at twenty, she just hopes she’s ready to rebuild some of what she lost. One way or another, it always comes back to her childhood friend and longtime crush, Killian O’Brien.

As strong as Killian is, Sofia has always been his one weakness. He knows Sofia has suffered and wants to ensure she’s never hurt again—not like before, and definitely not under his watch. When Sofia agrees to work at his mixed martial arts gym, Killian seizes the opportunity to help and protect the sweet girl he’s always cared for. And yet, as he trains Sofia to defend herself using his hard-hitting MMA techniques, he’s drawn to the vulnerable beauty in ways he never expected.

As Sofia grows stronger, she also grows brave enough to open herself up to love. And along the way, she challenges everything Killian believes to be true, showing him that no matter how much he dominates in the ring, the real battle is fought in the heart.

At A Glance

Loved the characters, but no sex makes Jennifer a dull girl.

The Good

Sofia and Killian were sweet together. Sofia is a lost soul because of her sad past and Killian is all protector mode activate because of Sofia’s past as well.

I really felt for Sofia. Her story is so heartbreaking. She has become timid and shy because of what happened to her, but she has so much hope and life when Killian is around. It was sweet that Killian was always there for her, though he didn’t think so. He has a huge heart and lots of muscle. The perfect combo.

The MMA fighting aspect was hot. I like me a fighter. The side characters were great. Killian’s family was so aggressive and loud but super supportive and caring towards Sofia, which she really needed.

The plot was basic but good. A very emotional read with some good action when it came to fighting.

The Bad

Once something was revealed near the end, I didn’t feel the same way about Killian and Sofia’s relationship. Even though things were cleared up, it already spoiled it for me. I am probably the only one that felt this way, sometimes I get overly sensitive about stupid things.

There was nothing special about this story that made is stand out amongst other NA reads.

The Snuggly

The sex was really lacking. We get some build up then the scene ends when things start getting good. So boring. Don’t read this book for the sex.

Final Thoughts

A solid read with characters that I easily fell for. I wish there was more intimacy though. I would still recommend it in the end.

Quotes

“The one outlining everything my program does. I emailed it to you three weeks ago.”
“Were there naked photos of you attached?”
My cheeks heated, but I laughed anyway. “Um, no.”
His response wasn’t even the least bit apologetic. “Then why would I open that shit?”

“I wish I could explain what you mean to me, and how much I need you. I just don’t know how.”

book review

, , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “Review: Once Pure by Cecy Robson”

  1. Red Iza

    I’m overly sensitive over stupid things too – plus I’m probably the only romance reviewer who’s not hot for fighters, lol ! So thanks to the warning and the review 😉

  2. Lekeisha

    I’d take a trip just from the cover alone. I love subtle romance with the characters having some kind of troubled past. I think I have one of her books on my Kindle that I need to read. Great review!

  3. kindlemom1

    It did lack some hotness that the others didn’t but I still really liked the storyline. I’m sorry you didn’t like this one more.

  4. braine

    Don’t read this book for the sex! lol

    I skipped this series, she writes super angsty shit and I can only read a few of those at a time

  5. Melissa (My World...in words and pages)

    I’ve enjoyed Cecy’s UF books, but haven’t gotten to this series yet. I hope to one day. 🙂

  6. Melliane

    Sorry to see it wasn’t that good for you. I confess that I really liked this one even if it was a bit less than the others but I still had a great time.

Leave a Reply